Florida Tint Laws

Considering all the benefits tinting offers, it is an excellent idea to get the windows of your car, SUV or van tinted. While on the road, you will often see vehicles with tint films that keep the inside temperature at a moderate level. Tinted car windows give protection against harmful UV rays as well as help you maintain privacy. When it comes to tinting, one thing that you should certainly remain aware of is what kind of window tint percentages are allowed in your state. If you live in Florida, you will need to get tinting on your vehicle done in accordance with the window tint laws in the state. In fact, you need to know other rules and regulations in this regard as well in order to avoid violation of tint laws and payment of hefty fines.

In this article, we will talk about Florida window tinting laws in particular including legal window tint levels and percentages so that it becomes easy for you to remain compliant to these laws and regulations.

 

Darkest Legal Tint in Florida

No matter where you live in the US, you will find that every state has enacted a law in regard to the darkness levels of vehicle window tint. Florida too has its own window tint laws and regulations.

Before we start discussing tint laws in Florida, you should understand what VLT means. This is because the tint legislation in the state has been formulated on the basis of this very concept. LVT is an abbreviation of Visible Light Transmission, which refers to the amount of visible light that can enter through the protective tint film installed in different kinds of vehicles. In Florida, the legal window tint percentage is different for cars, SUVs, sedans, vans, etc. That is why it is important to know what percentage of VLT is legally permissible for the vehicle you have.

In most states, the VLT or the level of darkness is up to 50%. But this is the highest level and even 10 percent tint, 15 percent tint or 20 percent tint will provide adequate protection for your specific needs.

 

Darkest Legal Tint for sedans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 28% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 15% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 15% of light in.

 

Darkest Legal Tint for SUVs and vans:

  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 28% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 6% of light in.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 6% of light in.

[N.B.- The AS-1 line is a line that stretches from the letters AS-1. You will find this line on most of automotive windshield glasses. The line is located equidistant from the top of the windshield.]

As it is mentioned above, the minimum VLT percentage for the front side windows of your car, SUV or van is 28%. One key thing that you might have noticed is that the VLT percentages for the windshield and front side window glasses are the same each for sedans, SUVs and vans.

Maintaining specific darkness of VLT levels is extremely important. The main purpose of enacting these laws and regulations is to allow proper visibility for law enforcement officials into the vehicle as well as allow drivers to have a clear vision of the road through the windows, particularly during nighttime. Therefore, it is for every vehicle owner to understand that window tinting laws and legal car tint levels have been enforced for your own safety on the road.

At Massive Mobile Window Tinting, we remain fully up-to-date with the laws so as to provide car owners with window tinting solutions that are not just of the highest quality but are also within legal standards.

 

Reflection Level of Legal Tint in Florida

Legal window tint percentages do not just concern the darkness or LVT levels, but also the reflective levels. The purpose of reflection an automotive tint film offers is to reduce the heat entering the vehicle.

If you plan to get window tinting done in Florida, you should stay informed about the legal tint reflection levels. You cannot opt for as much reflectiveness as you want for the window glasses of your car, SUV, RV or van. The amount of reflective material used during tinting must be in adherence to the Florida tint regulations. Just like the LVT levels, the tint reflection levels also vary for sedans, SUVs and vans and you must pay attention to and comply with them.

 

Tint reflection level for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: Must not be more than 25% reflective.
  • Back Side windows: Must not be more than 35% reflective.

Tint reflection level for SUVs and vans:

  • Front Side windows: Must not be more than 25% reflective.
  • Back Side windows: Must not be more than 35% reflective.

Excessive reflection levels of window tint create security issues for law enforcement agencies and jeopardize your safety on the road due to the reflection of the sunlight. The maximum amounts of reflection front side windows and back side windows can possess are 25% and 35% respectively. When you choose to get reflective tint installed, you should abide by these restrictions.

The state of Florida made these tint laws in 1991 and updated the laws in 2015. To get the latest information, you should reach out to a local window tinting service provider in Orange County, Oviedo or Winter Park, FL.

 

Other Window Tint Regulations in Florida

Apart from the principal auto window tint laws, there are additional rules and regulatory guidelines that you should follow.

 

Side Mirrors

According to the Florida automotive tint laws, you will need to have dual side mirrors in case any back window in your vehicle has a tint film on it. Tinted back windows result in a reduction of visibility, particularly while driving at night. Therefore, dual side mirrors will in a way compensate for the lost visibility and provide the driver with additional visibility, thus providing road safety.

 

Tint Colors

Florida has specific guidelines for car window tinting. If you live in this state, you should never install colored tint on the windows of your car, SUV, RV or van. The natural color of the window glass must not change.

 

Certificates and Stickers

Vehicle owners do not need to obtain certification from film manufacturers. However, it is mandatory to have a sticker pasted inside the driver’s side door jamb to affirm tinting was done as per the law.

 

Medical Exceptions

Florida window tint laws generally apply to all vehicles except for medical transportation and some other transportation. Ambulances, buses, hearses and church-owned vehicles are exempt from tint regulations. This is because the aforementioned vehicles need more privacy for transportation.

If you have a medical exemption for a specific health condition, the sticker should be visible for law enforcement officers to see.

 

Penalties for Tint Law Violation

As a responsible citizen and Florida resident, you should always adhere to the window tint laws and regulations in the state. Your adherence to the SUV, van and car tint levels will safeguard law enforcement as well as ensure your protection while on the road. In order to see if a vehicle is in violation of the tinting laws, law enforcement officers carry a device called LVT meter.

Using an LVT meter, the officer can easily determine whether your SUV or car window has 5 percent tint, 10 percent tint, 15 percent tint, 20 percent tint etc. The device is used to measure both the LVT levels and the reflective level of tint film. After the percentage of tinted windows has been measured, the officer will match it with the information on the sticker inside the driver’s door jamb. If there is violation of the tint law, the officer will issue a non-moving violation. In this case, you will be required to appear in the law enforcement office to explain your position or pay a hefty fine within a specific period of time, as per the order.

Installation of illegal tint films is also a violation of the Florida tint law and can lead to serious consequences including 60 days behind bars. The guilty person may also need to pay a fine of up to $500.

 

Still Have a Question?

Hopefully, you now have a better and clearer understanding of how Florida tint laws work and what is legal and illegal window tint. If you still have any confusion or a question, head straight to Massive Mobile Window Tinting, which provides the most professional window tinting for cars, SUVs, RVs and vans exactly as per the state tint laws, rules and regulations. Our certified experts perform tint jobs with the highest level of precision while meeting all legal standards. Let us help you stay up-to-date with the current legal window tint regulations.

For your free consultation or to schedule an appointment for our tinting services give us a call 4074291795.